They say you always know someone from Wisconsin by the way we say our A’s…

So I was wandering around Blogland, and found one of those fun, time killer quizzes that are so popular…it was a quiz on what kind of an American accent you have. Having studied linguistics in my undergrad, I was intrigued. Often, if I go to the East or West coast, or the deep South, folks, upon meeting me and hearing me speak, will often ask, “Are you from Wisconsin?” before I can even greet them properly. I always found it funny; yes, I say bubbler. A water fountain is one of those things in the park that the birds poop on. And pop, well…that’s a noise! I drink SODA. 😉 My a’s are a bit drawn out and somewhat nasally. Either way, I LOVE being from Wisconsin, love the Upper Midwest, and have no intention of moving anywhere else for a while. Unless it is the Gettysburg, PA/ Frederick, MD/Arlington, Wash. D.C area….then I’d go! Either way, I tend to stick out in a crown when presenting a research paper if I’m too far out of my region, and this quiz was so funny to me because, well…I knew it to be true! And I’m darned proud of it…

(No, I’m not a Packers fan. I hate football.)

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The Inland North
 

You may think you speak “Standard English straight out of the dictionary” but when you step away from the Great Lakes you get asked annoying questions like “Are you from Wisconsin?” or “Are you from Chicago?” Chances are you call carbonated drinks “pop.”

The Midland
 
North Central
 
The West
 
The Northeast
 
Philadelphia
 
Boston
 
The South
 
What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz
Leave a Reply

