Coupon Fraud Alert!

Recently, I went to my local Supercenter Walmart to buy a few groceries that would’ve been cheap after price matching and coupons…

The cashier informed me that she couldn’t accept my internet printed coupons as they (the store) were not accepting any IPs anymore. Irritated, I told her to just put everything back then – I stated Walmart’s corporate policy, but she said that she didn’t have to accept them, and that I was wrong.

I called Walmart’s Bentonville office today to clarify after reading their policy at Walmartfacts.com

The gentleman I spoke with reiterated their coupon policy (yes, they DO take IPs. This is NOT up to management discretion.), and also informed me of something rather interesting which makes me REALLY ANGRY.

Apparently, a “company” named VyraLmt or Vyralmkt is creating fraudulent internet printables. The gentleman I spoke with said that an easy way to verify if an IP is fraudulent or not is to check the address – if it is 1 Fawcett Dr, Del Rio, TX, 78840 – you’ve got yourself a fraud! Don’t use it! Please, do not use it.

He said that a good rule of thumb is the amount of the coupon – if it is for, example, $5 off ONE candybar that is normally $.50, obviously, it is a forgery. If a coupon amount is too good to be true, then it probably is. He also mentioned that there are plenty of legitimate printable coupons and coupons from newspaper inserts with this address listed as well – that we just need to be wary of the dollar amount off. Again, if it is too good to be true, it most likely is.

If you’re reading this, please help spread the word about this – those of us who depend on coupons to help purchase groceries for their family don’t want to suffer ramifications such as no more coupons allowed if others are going to be dishonest.Be HONEST in your coupon dealings.

*shakes head and tsks tsks at those individuals*

One response to “Coupon Fraud Alert!

  1. I don’t know if you are still reading the comments on these very old posts, but I was wondering about this. I do the coupon mom thing – saw your mention of the Burlington Kmart on one of her blog links. I haven’t had trouble at the Burlington Walmart, but I did run across an IP coupon recently that made me suspicious. It was for rice snacks of some kind.

    I just learned that our Roundy’s Pick and Save doubles some coupons on Wednesday and they take IP’s! I have lived here for 8 years and didn’t know that.

Leave a Reply

